Burke Laboratories @ UIUC






Graduate Students


Class of 2015

Rajeev Chorghade
Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Chemistry (Honors), 2014
chorgha2@illinois.edu

Virginia Bartow Scholar
Hannum Fellowship

Claire Simons
Washington University in St. Louis
A.B. Chemistry, 2015
clsimon2@illinois.edu

Roger Adams Fellowship
Enta Fellowship

Anthony Sotelo
California Lutheran University
B.S. Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 2015
asotelo2@illinois.edu

Jiabao Zhang
Nankai University
B.S. Pharmacy, 2015
jzhan169@illinois.edu


Class of 2013

Jonathan Lehmann
Grand Valley State University
B.S. (Honors) Chemistry, 2013
Magna Cum Laude
jwlehma2@illinois.edu

Roger Adams Fellowship
Marvel Fellowship

Jon Andrea

Andrea Palazzolo
University of Notre Dame
B.S. (Honors) Chemistry, 2013
Magna Cum Laude
palazzo1@illinois.edu

UIUC Medical Scholars Program
Marvel Fellowship

Anna SantaMaria
Moravian College
B.S. Biology with honors, 2013
Magna Cum Laude
asantam2@illinois.edu

Robert L. Switzer Award

Anna SantaMaria  

 


Class of 2012

Katrina Diaz
University of Michigan
B.S. Biology (Honors), 2012
B.S. English, 2012
kdiaz20@illinois.edu

UIUC Medical Scholars Program

Katrina Diaz Jenn Hou

Jenn Hou
Johns Hopkins University
B.S. Molecular and Cellular Biology (Honors), 2011
M.S. Biology, 2012
jhou8@illinois.edu

UIUC Medical Scholars Program
MCB Graduate Fellow
Robert L. Switzer Award


Class of 2011

Adam Hill
University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
B.S. (Honors) Chemistry, 2011
ahill10@illinois.edu

Therald-Moeller Fellowship
John and Margaret Witt Fellowship
Eastman Travel Grant Award

Adam Hill Tony Grillo

Tony Grillo
University of Michigan
B.S. Chemistry, 2011
B.S. Biochemistry, 2011
with Highest Honors
grillo2@illinois.edu

St. Elmo Brady Graduate Fellow
Lester and Kathleen Coleman Fellowship
NSF Graduate Fellow
R.C. Fuson Travel Award
Eastman Travel Grant Award
Sigma Aldrich Alfred R. Bader Award for Student Innovation
Pines Travel Award

Hannah Haley
Macalester College
B.A. Chemistry, 2011
hhaley2@illinois.edu

Roger Adams Fellowship
Pines Travel Award


Hannah Haley  

 


Post-doctoral Fellows
Melanie Trobe
B.Sci Chemistry, 2010
M.Sci Chemistry, 2011
PhD Chemistry, 2015
Graz University of Technology
Rolf Breinbauer Group
Erwin-Schrodinger Fellowship
mtrobe@illinois.edu

Daniel Blair
M.Sci Chemistry, 1st Class with Honors, University of Bristol
PhD Organic Chemistry, 2016
University of Bristol
Varinder Aggarwal Group
Damion Runyon Cancer Research Foundation Fellowship
danielb@illinois.edu

       

 

     

Undergraduates

James Rozsypal
B.S. Chemistry, 2020 (expected)
jamesar2@illinois.edu

James Scholar

James Fan
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemical Engineering, 2018 (expected)
jfan11@illinois.edu

James Scholar
Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List

Christopher Nardone
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry and Molecular and Cellular Biology, 2017 (expected)
nardone2@illinois.edu

James Scholar
Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List

Eliot Rapoport
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2018 (expected)
erapopo2@illinois.edu

James Scholar
Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List



   

 


Former Graduate Students

       
Eric Gillis
Grinnell College
B.A. Chemistry (Honors), 2005
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2010
Discovery Chemistry, 2010-Present
Bristol-Myers Squibb
gillis2@uiuc.edu

Bristol-Myers Squibb Graduate Fellowship
Roche Excellence in Chemistry Award
Sigma-Aldrich Graduation Student Innovation Award
Pines Graduate Fellowship
Eric Gillis Dan Palacios

Dan Palacios
UC San Diego
B.S. Chemistry, 2005
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2011
dpalaci2@uiuc.edu

NIH Predoctoral Fellowship
Robert M. Scarborough Award in medicinal chemistry
GAAAN Graduate Fellowship
Pines Travel Award, 2008
University of Illinois Graduate College Fellowship 2005-2007
Robert F. Carr Fellowship

Jenna Klubnick
The College of New Jersey
B.S. Chemistry, 2008
Magna Cum Laude
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
M.S. Chemistry, 2011
klubnic1@illinois.edu
Jenna Klubnick Kaitlyn Gray Kaitlyn Gray
Harvey Mudd College
B.S. Chemistry, 2006
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2011
Dow Chemical, 2011-Present
kcgray@uiuc.edu

Roger Adams Fellowship (2006-2007)
John and Margaret Witt Fellowship (2007-2008)
Harold R. Snyder Graduate Fellowship
Novartis Graduate Fellowship
Ian Dailey
Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
B.S. Chemistry, 2006
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2012
3M, 2012-Present
idailey2@uiuc.edu

R.C. Fuson Fellowship
Roger Adams Fellowship
William Albert Noyes Award
Lester and Kathleen Coleman Fellowship
R.C. Fuson Travel Award
Roche Excellence in Chemistry Award
2011 Abbott Scholar Award
Ian Dailey Dave Knapp

David Knapp
Rose-Hulman Inst. of Tech.
Double Major: Chemistry and Biochemistry/Molecular Biology 2002
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Chemical Biology, 2012
George Washington University Law, 2012-Present
dknapp3@uiuc.edu

Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship
Roger Adams Fellowship
Chemical Biology Interface Training Grant Fellowship

Tom Anderson
Brigham Young University
B.S. Chemistry, 2005
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2012
tander21@uiuc.edu

NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein Predoctoral MD/PhD Fellow

Tom Anderson Brandon Wilcock Brandon Wilcock
University of Utah
B.S. Chemistry 2006
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2013
wilcock2@uiuc.edu
Erin Davis
Smith College
B.A. History, 2007
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
M.S. Chemistry, 2013
davis110@illinois.edu

2008 Fulbright Scholar
Erin Davis EMW Eric Woerly
Purdue University, School of Science at Indianapolis (IUPUI)
B.S. Chemistry, 2007
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2013
ewoerly2@uiuc.edu

NSF Graduate Fellow
Eli Lilly Synthetic Organic Chemistry Graduate Fellowship
Pines Travel Award
R.C. Fuson Travel Award
Steve Ballmer
Wright State University
B.S. Chemistry, 2007
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2013
ballmer2@uiuc.edu
SGB Pulin Wang Pulin Wang
Emmanuel College
B.S. Chemistry, 2006
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2013
pwang22@uiuc.edu

Voorhees Award for Best
Graduate Research Proposal
Sister Janet Eisner Merit Scholarship.
Excellent TA Award of Emmanuel College in 2006
Greg Morehouse
Northeastern University
B.S. Chemistry, 2009
M.S. Chemistry, 2009
Summa Cum Laude
morehou2@illinois.edu
Greg Morehouse Seiko Fujii Seiko Fujii
Smith College
B.A. Chemistry, 2008
with Highest Honors
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2014
fujii1@illinois.edu

UIUC Department of Chemistry Graduate Fellowship
R.C. Fuson Travel Award
Proctor and Gamble Fellow
Pines Travel Award
Brice Uno
Grinnell College
B.A. Chemistry (Honors), 2007
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2014
buno2@uiuc.edu
Brice Uno Stephen Davis Stephen Davis
Purdue University
B.S. Chemistry, 2008
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2014
davissa@illinois.edu

Eli Lilly Synthetic Organic Chemistry Graduate Fellowship
UIUC Department of Chemistry Graduate Fellowship
R.C. Fuson Travel Award
Junqi Li
National University of Singapore
B.Sc. (Honors), 2007
M.Sc., 2009
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2015
junqili1@illinois.edu

Walter Brown Graduate Fellowship
Bristol-Myers Squibb Graduate Fellowship
HHMI International Research Fellowship
JL Lingbowei Hu Lingbowei Hu
Fudan University
B.S. Chemistry, 2012
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
M.S. Biochemistry, 2016
lhu9@illinois.edu
Michael Schmidt
Kent State University
B.S. Chemistry, 2013
Summa Cum Laude
M.S. Chemistry, 2016
University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana
Gilead Sciences, 2017-present
mjschmd2@illinois.edu
Mike Schmidt

Alex Cioffi

Alex Cioffi
Saint Louis University
B.S. Chemistry, 2011
Summa Cum Laude
Ph.D. Biochemistry, 2017
University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana
Postdoc in Nomura Group
UC-Berkley, 2017-present
acioffi2@illinois.edu

Former Post-doctoral Fellows
Suk Joong Lee
Chungnam National University, Daejon, South Korea
B.A. Chemistry, 1992
Chungnam National University, Daejon, South Korea
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2001
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Beak Group, 2001-2005
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Burke Group, 2005-2010
Trius Therapeutics
Medicinal Chemistry sjl@uiuc.edu
Arjun Nagarjuna Palyam
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2010
University of Saskatchewan, Canada
Marek Majewski Group
Sathya Sai University, India
M.Sc. Chemistry, 2001
B.Sc. Chemistry (Honours), 1999
Research Associate, 2002-2005
Aurigene Discovery Technologies
Bangalore, India
palyam@illinois.edu


Justin Struble
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2009
University of Pennsylvania
Jeff Bode Group
Monsanto, 2014-present
strublej@illinois.edu

Justin Souvik Rakshit Souvik Rakshit
Post-Doctoral Fellow, 2010-2013
Columbia University
Dalibor Sames Group
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, 2010
Westfalische Wilhelms-Universitate Munster
Frank Glorius Group
M.Sc. Chemistry, 2007
Indian Institute of Technology
souvik@illinois.edu
Ian Crouch
B.S. Microbiology, 2006
University of Oklahoma
Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, 2013
UT San Antonio
Doug Frantz Group
icrouch@illinois.edu
Ian Crouch Penagaluri Balasubramanyam
B.Sc. Chemistry, 2002
M.Sc. Organic Chemistry, 2005
Sri Venkateswara University
Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, 2012
CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology
Biswanath Das FRSC Group
penagalu@illinois.edu
Anuj Khandelwal
B.Sc. Chemistry (H), 2006
M.Sc. Organic Chemistry, 2008
University of Delhi
Ph.D. Medicinal Chemistry, 2016
University of Kansas
Brian Blagg Group
   

 

 


Former Undergraduate Group Members

Asa Melhado
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2005
amelhado@berkeley.edu

Currently pursuing Ph.D. at U.C. Berkeley with Dean Toste
Dave Siebert
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2009
dsieber2@uiuc.edu

Currently pursuing M.D. at University of Chicago
Linda Johnson
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2009
ljohnso8@uiuc.edu

Currently employed at National Institutes of Health
Matriculating Fall 2010 at Washington University St. Louis M.D./Ph.D program
Gretchen Bromann
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, Spanish Minor, 2010
bromann2@uiuc.edu

Chancellor's Honors Scholar
James Honors Scholar

Alan Cherney
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemical Engineering, 2010
cherney2@uiuc.edu

Currently pursuing Ph.D. at Caltech

Nashrah Maryum
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Molecular and Cellular Biology, 2011
nmaryu2@uiuc.edu


Stephanie Chang
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2011
chang53@illinois.edu

James Scholar
Stephanie Chang Graham Dick

Graham Dick
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2010
Summa Cum Laude
B.S. Engineering Physics, 2010
High Honors
gdick2@uiuc.edu

University Honors - Bronze Tablet

Currently pursuing Ph.D. at Stanford University

Sean O'Hara
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2013
ohara4@illinois.edu

James Scholar
Sean O'Hara Mathew Clark Mathew Clark
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Biochemistry, 2013
mjclark5@illinois.edu

Zixin (Laura) Chen
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2013
chen224@illinois.edu

Currently pursuing Ph.D. at Stanford University

Laura Chen

Jim Tucker

Jim Tucker
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, 2012
Magna Cum Laude
tucker15@illinois.edu

James Scholar
National Merit Scholar
Campus Honors Progam
Mathews Scholar
Phi Beta Kappa

Currently pursuing Ph.D. at Harvard University

Brooke Schuster
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Chemistry, B.S. Integrative Biology, 2014
Honors
schuste6@illinois.edu

Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List
Gieseking Memorial Fellowship

Brooke Schuster Dillon Svoboda
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.S. Molecular and Cellular Biology, 2016
dsvobod2@illinois.edu

Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List
Preble Research Award
James Scholar

Robert Pipal
B.S. in Biochemistry, 2016
rpipal2@illinois.edu

Summa Cum Laude
James Scholar
Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List
University Honors-Bronze Tablet

Currently pursuing Ph.D. at Princeton University


Sarah Tucker
B.S. Molecular and Cell Biology, 2016
satucke2@illinois.edu

Chancellor's Scholar
James Scholar
Campus Honors Program Summer Research Award

Currently pursuing Ph.D. at Harvard University