Principal Investigator

Professor Kami L. Hull received her B.A. degree in chemistry from Macalester College in 2003. She obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Michigan in 2009 working with Prof. Melanie Sanford. While there, she received several awards including the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Fellowship and the Roche Award for Excellence in Organic Chemistry. Upon graduation, she moved to California as an NIH postdoctoral fellow in Prof. Barry M. Trost’s laboratory at Stanford University from 2009–2012. She joined the faculty at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in the fall of 2012, where her research group focuses on the development of and mechanistic studies of transition metal-catalyzed reactions. While at the University of Illinois Kami, in addition to being named one of C&E News’ Inaugural Talented Twelve, has been the recipient of a number of awards, including the NSF CAREER Award, Sloan Research Fellowship, and the Amgen Young Investigator Award.

Graduate Students

Samuel Gockel

Fifth year graduate student


University of Minnesota-Morris

(Prof. N. E. Carpenter)


gockel2 at illinois dot edu

Daniel Kohler

Fifth year graduate student


Michigan State University

(Prof. W. D. Wulff)


dgkohle2 at illinois dot edu

Zhao Wu

Fifth year graduate student


University of Science and Technology of China

(Prof. S.-K. Tian)


zhaowu2 at illinois dot edu

Evan Vanable

Fifth year graduate student


Union College

(Prof. J. Adrian)


vanable2 at illinois dot edu

Travis Buchanan

Third year graduate student


Blackburn College

(Prof. M. Harmata)


tbuchan2 at illinois dot edu

Summer Laffoon Third year graduate student NSF Fellow Arkansas Tech University (Profs. F. D. Hardcastle and C. Mebi) laffoon2 at illinois dot edu

Alexander Beebe

Second year graduate student


Rowan University

(Prof. Gustavo Moura-Letts)


awbeebe2 at illinois dot edu

Brittany Gay

First year graduate student


Union College

(Dr. Joanne Kehlbeck)


bgay2 at illinois dot edu

Grace Neathery

First year graduate student


Marian University

(Dr. Carl Lecher)


gn2 at illinois dot edu

N. Ian Rinehart First year graduate student Springborn Fellow University of Oregon (Prof. Dave Tyler) nir2 at illinois dot edu
Tiara Brown First year graduate student Sloan Fellow Chicago State University (Prof. Kristy Mardis) tiaralb2 at illinois dot edu

Undergraduate Students

Alex Veatch


veatch2 at illinois dot edu

Xujia Zhong


xzhong11 at illinois dot edu