Affiliated departments and school

School of Chemical Sciences

School News

photo pf Wilfred van der Donk and John RogersWilfred van der Donk and John Rogers have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Rogers was recognized for pioneering flexible, stretchable electronics and van der Donk was recognized for discovering and designing new anti-inflammatory agents and antibiotics. UIUC News Bureau article.
photo of Lici A. Schurig-Briccio, Shannon Bogue, Xinxin Feng, Kai Li and Eric OldfieldEric Oldfield and colleagues are developing analogs of a multi-target antibiotic that may be very effective against pathogens such as malarial parasites and tuberculosis yet less toxic to humans. UIUC News Bureau article.
research members of the Martin Burke and Chad Rienstra research groupsIn collaboration, the Martin Burke and Chad Rienstra research groups have determined the mechanism by which amphotericin acts as a fungicide. Additionally, the Burke group has developed a derivative that could be less toxic to people. UIUC News Bureau article.
photo of Moore, Sotos, WhiteA continuous self-healing system for fiber-composite materials has been developed by Jeffrey Moore and fellow researchers. Their work was published in Advanced Materials. Beckman Institute article.
photo of Patricia BlairPatricia Blair received a 2014 ACS Women Chemists Committee/Eli Lilly Travel Grant. She is a graduate student in the Douglas Mitchell research group. She investigates the mechanism of action of plantazolicin against Bacillus anthracis.
photo Prashant Jain Prashant Jain is one of 23 chemists nationally awarded a prestigious Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship. He was recognized for his work with nano-optics and molecular imaging. UIUC News Bureau article.
photo Zaida Luthey-Schulten and Taekjip HaZaida Luthey-Schulten and Taekjip Ha collaborated to determine how ribosomal RNA interacts with proteins for ribosome assembly. Their study was published in Nature. UIUC News Bureau article.
photo of self-healing plasticJianjun Cheng and colleagues are developing self-healing plastics using readily available components. They modify the molecular bonding so that re-bonding is easier. Their research may be found in the journal Nature Communications. UIUC News Bureau article, video.
More School News

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
School of Chemical Sciences
106 Noyes Lab
505 S. Mathews
Urbana, IL  61801
Professor Jonathan Sweedler

(217) 333-5070
(217) 333-3120 fax
jsweedle [at] illinois [dot] edu
Please send comments and suggestions to:
scs_web [at] scs [dot] illinois [dot] edu