For explanation of the design, click here.

American Chemical Society

Division of the History of Chemistry

ACS logo

Citations for Chemical Breakthrough Awards

2013 Awardees
O. T. Avery, C. M. MacLeod, and M. McCarty
Rockefeller University

The award plaque is placed at the entrance to the Hospital. The paintings shown in the photograph are of McCarty (left) and Avery (right).
Those featured in the photograph from the award presentation are, from left to right:

Dr. Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President of The Rockefeller University
Dr. Barry S. Coller, Physician in Chief, The Rockefeller University Hospital; Vice President for Medical Affairs, The Rockefeller University
Ms. Jean Delfiner, Board of Directors, ACS New York Section
Mrs. Marge MacCarty, wife of Maclyn MacCarty
Dr. John B. Sharkey, Division of the History of Chemistry, ACS