FIFTY YEARS OF THE DEXTER AND EDELSTEIN AWARDS



Photo courtesy Edelstein Center

At the 232nd national meeting of the American Chemical Society in San Francisco in September, 2006, the History of Chemistry Division (HIST) sponsored a symposium to celebrate fifty years of an award established by Sidney Edelstein in 1955 to recognize outstanding contributions to the history of chemistry. Originally called the Dexter Award, after the Dexter Chemical Company which Edelstein also founded, the award was renamed the Edelstein Award in 2002 after his death. Sidney Edelstein served faithfully as secretary-treasurer of HIST from 1948-1965. His legacy of support lives on in this HIST award, the

Sidney Edelstein Center at Hebrew University, Edelstein fellowships administered through the Chemical Heritage Foundation, and the SHOT Edelstein Prize, funded by Ruth Barish. This issue of the Bulletin contains a paper based upon the symposium address by the 2006 Edelstein Award recipient, Dr. Peter J. T. Morris, along with several other papers presented at the symposium. We anticipate additional papers from the symposium will appear in future issues.

The Editor