CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE 2009 EDELSTEIN AWARD

The Division of History of Chemistry (HIST) of the American Chemical Society (ACS) solicits nominations for the 2009 Sidney M. Edelstein Award for Outstanding Achievement in the History of Chemistry. This award, first given in 2002, honors the memory of the late Sidney M. Edelstein, who established the Dexter Award in 1956, and continues the tradition of the Dexter Award for Outstanding Achievements in the History of Chemistry, which was discontinued after 2001. Lists of previous recipients of the Edelstein Award and its predecessor Dexter Award are available at the HIST webpage (http://www.scs.uiuc.edu/~mainzv/HIST/).

The Edelstein Award is sponsored by Ruth Edelstein Barish and family and is administered by HIST. The recipient chosen to receive the Edelstein Award is presented with an engraved plaque and the sum of \$3500, usually at a symposium honoring the recipient at the Fall National Meeting of the ACS. The award is international in scope, and nominations are welcome from anywhere in the world. Previous winners of the Dexter and Edelstein Awards include chemists and historians from the United States, Canada, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Hungary, Israel, and the United Kingdom.

A complete nomination consists of

- ➤ a complete curriculum vitae for the nominee, including biographical data, educational background, awards, honors, list of publications, and other service to the profession;
- ➤ a letter of nomination summarizing the nominee's achievements in the field of history of chemistry and citing unique contributions that merit a major award; and
- > at least two seconding letters.

Copies of no more than three publications may also be included. Only complete nominations will be considered for the award.

All nomination materials should be submitted in triplicate to Anthony S. Travis, Chair of the Edelstein Award Committee for 2009, Edelstein Center, Safra Campus, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91904, Israel (email: travis@cc.huji.ac.il) for arrival no later than December 31, 2008.